At a Glance

photo of people sitting around a table talking

Screenwriting students pitch to industry professionals on Career day.

The first Graduate Program of Film in Canada continues to build on York’s longstanding commitment to deliver innovative, comprehensive, and interdisciplinary post-graduate training. Our MA, MFA and PhD programs offer state of the art research and teaching facilities (including affiliated research clusters like Sensorium: Centre for Digital Arts and Technology ResearchArchive/Counter-ArchiveVISTA & Centre for Vision Research, the Augmented Reality Lab that feature research on new technologies and screen interfaces and diverse audio-visual cultures) distinguished by leading edge scholarship (including research creation) and creative production by internationally acclaimed faculty.

Our students and faculty regularly contribute to Toronto’s lively and diverse film culture through festival programming, curation, symposia, lectures and more. Films by students and faculty regularly appear in the over 100 film festivals that occur each year, including the Toronto International Film Festival, Hot Docs, and Images Festival. The City of Toronto provides students with exceptional opportunities for internships, access to archival and repertory film screenings, museums and galleries, and resources like the Ontario Provincial Archives (housed on York University campus), and other unique research collections. This along with the fact that Toronto supports Canada’s most important media industry infrastructure makes us the program of choice.

Recent guests at York University include Jennifer Baichwal, Lucy Fischer, Bruce Jenkins, Suzanne Morrissette, Matthias Mueller, Hamid Naficy, Alanis Obamsawin, Patrice Petro, Michele Pierson, and William Urrichio, among many others. Past speakers have included Dudley Andrew, Michel Brault, Rey Chow, Ian Christie, Wendy Chun, Atom Egoyan, Thomas Elsaesser, David Gatten, Tom Gunning, Guy Maddin, Toby Miller, Sarah Polley, Virginia Rankin, David Shore, Karen Walton, Kaja Silverman, Michael Snow, Hito Steyerl, and Clement Virgo.